How to transition from ITIL® v3 to ITIL® 4

How to transition from ITIL® v3 to ITIL® 4


ITIL® continues to be reckoned with as the most-accepted methodology for IT service management (ITSM). As proof of its global relevance, there are over two million certified ITIL®-certified professionals globally.

The pace at which the world is evolving is obvious to everyone. For instance, we see new breakthroughs in emerging technologies such as robotics, internet of things, biotechnology, etc. As a result of this, the world has become more complex and fast-paced.

In response to the challenges brought about by digitization, ITIL® was updated to a new version. This new version is ITIL® 4, a more encompassing ITSM methodology that addresses today’s digital challenges. ITIL® v3, the previous version, still remains globally relevant. In fact, the core fundamentals of ITIL® v3 will continue to be relevant to individuals and businesses. Also, the ITIL® 4 certification scheme is aligned with ITIL® v3, although ITIL® 4 is more streamlined than ITIL® v3.

Table of Contents

How to transition from ITIL® v3 Foundation to ITIL® 4

If you have taken the ITIL® v3 Foundation before, you need to take the ITIL® 4 Foundation exam. In other words, to transition to the new ITIL® 4 Foundation scheme, you must sit and pass the ITIL® 4 Foundation exam.

How to transition from ITIL® v3 Intermediate to ITIL® 4

When you have three or four credits 

If you have a total of not more than four credits in the ITIL® intermediates, then:

Option 1
If you want to work towards achieving the ITIL MP designation, you need to continue to accumulate ITIL v3 credits. When you have accumulated at least 17 credits, you will then be eligible to take the MP Transition module.

Option 2
If you have no intention of pursuing the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) designation, then you should:

  • Take the ITIL® 4 Foundation, and
  • Take a module in your preferred area of interest to become an ITIL Specialist, Strategist or Leader.

When you have six or more credits
If you have accumulated six or more credits in ITIL v3 Practitioner and/or Intermediate courses, then you should continue to collect credits so that you can get up to 17 credits. Once you get up to 17 credits; then, you are eligible to take the ITIL MP Transition module.

How to transition from ITIL v3 Expert to ITIL® 4


If you are an ITIL v3 Expert, you are automatically qualified to take the ITIL MP Transition module.

After you have achieved the ITIL MP designation, if you are interested in pursuing the ITIL SL stream, you will only need to complete the ITIL Leader Digital & Strategy module. Having done this, you are now eligible to move towards ITIL Master.

How to transition from ITIL® v3 to ITIL® 4

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Please complete the form below to submit an enquiry