What is new in ITIL 4?

What is new in ITIL 4


It is no longer news that ITIL® has been updated. The new version, ITIL® 4, has been gaining momentum in cities and nations around the world. Even though there have been talks on the new update, many people are still not aware of the changes in the previous version.

When you buy a new car, it is important that you know what the car can do so that you can know how best to use the car. Apart from this, you would want to compare the functionalities of both your new and your old car. In the same way, when you know what ITIL® 4 contains, it will help you to make a more informed decision.

Let’s now look at the new things in ITIL® 4 under the following headings:

Table of Contents

Emphasis on value creation

Unlike the previous version, ITIL® 4 focuses on co-creation of value. ITIL® 4 achieves this by using  Service Value System (SVS). The SVS shows how different activities and components can work harmoniously to bring about value creation in IT-enabled services.

Within the SVS is the Service Value Chain (SVC). The SVC is a set of related activities, such that when arranged in the right way, provides an operating model for IT services. This model helps businesses to create, deliver and continuously improve on IT-enabled services.

The interesting thing about the SVC is that it is flexible and easily adaptable. As a result, it becomes easy for organisations to tailor their services to meet stakeholders’ changing demands.

Focus on practices

To catch up with the demands of digitisation, ITIL® 4 includes elements such as technology, culture, information and data management, etc. What is called processes in ITIL® v3 is now called practices in ITIL® 4. A major change, isn’t it? ITIL® 4 practices provide a holistic view of how to work in a complex, fast-paced and tech-driven world.

Streamlined certification path

The new ITIL® 4 has a more streamlined certification path in contrast to the previous version. The ITIL® 4 certification paths are:

 ITIL 4 Foundation
 ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP)
 ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL)
 ITIL Master

The ITIL 4 Foundation is the first level in the ITIL 4 certification scheme. It is also a pre-requisite for other levels. To achieve either the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) or ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) designations, you must complete the modules in each stream.

To become an ITIL Master, you must have both ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) designations.

ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) Transition module helps people transit from the previous version to ITIL 4.

Please, visit our “difference between ITIL v3 and ITIL 4”  blog to learn more.

Incorporation of recent trends and approaches

As part of the new features, ITIL® 4 integrates new ways of doing things. Concepts and approaches such as DevOps, Agile, Lean and IT governance and leadership have been integrated into ITIL® 4.

ITIL® 4 emphasizes customer collaboration, working holistically and getting continual feedbacks. These are new ways of working brought about by advances in technology and complexities in the business world. Also, ITIL® 4 provides the flexibility needed to adopt and implement what is relevant to businesses and organizations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Please complete the form below to submit an enquiry